Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Leiden University Student Platform

The Leiden University Student Platform (LUS) advises the Executive Board on matters of education and student affairs. The platform is also responsible for the awarding of the Leiden Teaching prize (Leidse Onderwijsprijs). All students are entitled to play an active role in the LUS.

Job opportunity

Faculty member of the LUS


The LUS was established in 2013 with the aim of providing advice to the Executive Board, primarily via the Vice-Rector who is the portfolio holder for teaching and student affairs. It consists of eight members, one for each faculty, and a chairperson.

The platform brings together different groups of students for ad hoc thematic meetings, which address current issues arising from Leiden’s teaching agenda.

Chair  Catrin Böcher


Myrthe Sassen

Governance and Global Affairs

Rozemarijn Wortelboer

Humanities Sophie Casado Yanci


Marlies Smit


Britt Kraaijeveld


Aisling Foley

Social and Behavioural Sciences

Anouk Pronk

Every year, the Leiden University Student platform (LUS) presents the Leiden Teaching Prize for the best teacher of the year. This year has, however, been an extraordinary one in which every student has been obliged to continue his learning in a different way. It is therefore logical that the lecturers who have best formulated and implement this new education deserve to be put in the spotlight.

An award for the lecturer who is the best and most creative in giving his or her classes. Every student can nominate a lecturer via a simple online form. So nominate that lecturer who has been creative and effective in changing his or her classes. During the opening of the academic year in September, the top three lecturers will be centre stage. The winner will receive €25,000 towards educational improvements. The runners up will both win €2,500.

Leiden Teaching Prize


Nominate your teacher

Due to the selected cookie settings, we cannot show this video here.

Watch the video on the original website or

Arianna Pranger lecturer of the year 2019-2020

Nominees Leiden Remote Teaching Prize 2020:




LUS members
Left to right: Myrthe Sassen, Britt Kraaijeveld, Rozemarijn Wortelboer, Marlies Smit, Catrin Böcher, Sophie Casado Yanci, Anouk Pronk, Aisling Foley
This website uses cookies.