Universiteit Leiden

nl en

University & Faculty Councils and Programme Committees

The university council and faculty councils are democratically elected co-participation bodies that represent both students and staff of the university and its faculties. Co-participation also takes place at departmental level through programme committees.

The University Council

The role of the university council is to critically observe and advise the Executive Board and, when applicable, to assist the board with important decisions. The powers of the University Council are laid down in the Higher Education and Research Act (WHW) and the University Council Regulations (both only available in Dutch).

Faculty Councils

Every faculty has a faculty council. After the university council, the faculty council is the second highest co-participation body within the university. Faculty councils consist of both staff and student members. Find out more under your faculty tab or in the organisational structure.

Programme Committees

Every programme has a programme committee. Within programme committees, lecturers and students come together to discuss the education provided by the programme. Programme committees provide both solicited and unsolicited advice to programme boards, faculty boards and faculty councils, concerning the quality of education, the course and examination regulations (OER) and educational facilities. If further information is available about your programme committee, this can be found under your programme tab.

Playing a role in co-participation?

Are you interested in playing an active role in co-participation at Leiden University? To gain a clearer picture of the various co-participation bodies, you are welcome to attend their public meetings. For more information about co-participation via the university and faculty councils, you can contact the parties that are active within these councils. You could also consider  founding your own party. If you would like to become a member of a programme committee, get in touch with your programme’s own committee.


If you want to have a say in matters that concern education, you can join the Faculty Council or one of the Programme Committees.

The members of the Faculty Council 2021-2022

The Faculty Council is the representative body of our faculty, whose role it is to criticaly follow the Faculty Board, advise and sometimes participate in decisions on important issues. Both staff and students are represented. During elections it will be determined who will serve on the Faculty Council. Each month the Faculty Board and Council meet to consider matters such as finance, personnel, education and facility services.

Agendas and minutes can be found on the Dutch students website page of the Faculty Council.

The current members of The Faculty Council can be found in the organisational structure.

If you want more information, have questions or are dissatisfied with a certain situation at the faculty, please contact us via FWN-FR@science.leidenuniv.nl.

Follow the Faculty Council on Facebook.

Each study programme has its own programme committee, consisting of teachers and students. It is the most important body within the programme where specific problems can be raised. he programme committee is called opleidingscommissie or OC in Dutch. If international staff or students participate in an OC, English is spoken during the meetings.

A OC is a legally determined co-participation body. It is set up for a separate study programmes or a group of programmes . The OC has an independent position within the study programme and is responsible, among other things, for conducting course and programme evaluations. In addition, the OC advises on education and examination regulations and other important matters concerning education. Due to its composition and working method, the OC is the most important body where students can raise specific problems and can contribute to improving the quality of education.

An OC therefore has an important control function, has to give its approval to certain matters and gives advice for improvement. If necessary, the OC can be a thorn in the side. It contributes constructively to improvements in courses, but also thinks along about the main lines of the curriculum, for now and for the future.

The compositions of the programme committees change annually. You can find the current compositions and contact details of the Faculty of Science programme committees in the organisational structure.

Programme Committee


Each study programme has a Programme Committee (PC) represented by students and teaching staff.  This committee has an independent position and carries the responsibility for the execution of course evaluations. In addition, the PC advises on the course and examination regulations and other important matters regarding education. Due to its composition and working method, the OC is the most important organ to which students can address concrete problems and contribute to improving the quality of education.

Staff members Master Programme Committee
Dr. Vadim Cheianov (Chairman)
Dr. Milan Allan 
Dr. Luca Giomi

Student members Master:
Georgia Kefala
Chrisostomos Stamou
Pepijn Veefkind 

Mail the group master students of the Programme Committee


Exam Committee

At the Board of Examiners you can ask for special requests regarding your study program and questions about and / or deviations from the course and exam regulations. For example, if you want to apply for admission or exemption for a particular course or if you have a different study plan then you can direct your request to the Board of Examiners by sending a mail to examencommissie@physics.leidenuniv.nl.  Appointed members of the Examination Committee can verify study results submitted for an examination to see if they comply with the relevant program and requirements.  Furthermore, the Board of Examiners is also involved in:

  • the approval of an internship or research outside of its own institution;
  • granting exemption from an exam; the replacement of a compulsory subject by another subject;
  • the recognition of exams taken outside of their own education;
  • the composition of a study package that deviates from the requirements of the respective OERs and their attachments

Prof.dr.Koenraad Schalm (voorzitter)
Dr. Dorothea Samtleben
Dr. Alessandra Silvestri 
Dr. Daniela Kraft
Dr. Stephan Eijt (extern lid)

Admission Committee Master Physics members:

Dr. Alexey Boiarskyi
Prof. dr. Thomas Schmidt
Dr. Hara Papathanassiou

PR Committee

The PR Commission of the Physics program is a joint committee with Astronomy. The committee is responsible for example for the production of promotional material and the organization of information  events  such as open days, fairs and more . The PR Committee meets three times a year and consists of the following members:

Staff members
Dr. ir. Sense Jan van der Molen (PR chairman Physics)
Dr. Henk Hoekstra (PR chairman Astronomy)
Razjaan Rashid, BSc (PR coordinator education Astronomy)
Manon van Ette (PR recruitment Physics)
Stefan Semrau ( Staff member Physics)
Erik Arends (Outreach Officer Leiden Institute of Physics)

Student members
Erik Weenk (Student ambassador Astronomy BSc)
Esmee Stoop (Student ambassador Astronomy BSc)
Job van der Wardt (Student ambassador Astronomy MSc) 
Annet van den Hul (Student ambassador Physics BSc)
Bas ten Haaf (Student ambassador PhysicsBSc & MSc)
Amy Louca (PR-assistant Astronomy)
Job van der Wardt (PR-assistant Astronomy)
Joshiwa van Marrewijk( PR-assistant Astronomy)
Camille de Valk (PR-assistant Physics)



This website uses cookies.