Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Academic calendar

The academic year officially commences on 1 September and ends on 31 August. On national holidays and compulsory closure dates, the university is closed and no lectures take place.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar applies to the whole university and to all study programmes, with the exception of medicine.

Public holidays

The university is closed on the following public holidays. 

  • Good Friday
  • Easter Sunday and Monday
  • King's Day (the day upon which King's Day is celebrated nationally)
  • Liberation Day: 5 May
  • Ascension Day
  • Whit Sunday and Monday
  • 3  October (Relief of Leiden)
  • Christmas Day and Boxing Day

Compulsory closures

The university is also closed on the 'compulsory closure' dates listed below.

Year Days
2021 Friday 14 May
Monday 27 December
Tuesday 28 December
Wednesday 29 December
Thursday 30 December
Friday 31 December
2022 Friday 27 May
Tuesday 27 December
Wednesday 28 December
Thursday 29 December
Friday 30 December

Faculty Academic Calendar

Faculty Academic Year 2020-2021

The academic year comprises 2 semesters, each of 20 weeks (public holidays and compulsory vacation days not included) in which lectures, examinations, completion of assignments etc. take place.

Semester I 
Block 1: 7 September 2020 - 18 October 2020
Block 2: 28 October 2020 - 13 December 2020

Semester II
Block 1: 3 February 2021 - 13 March 2021
Block 2: 23 March 2021 - 15 May 2021

Exams

Semester I
Monday 21 October 2020 - Friday 25 October 2020
Monday 16 December 2020 - Friday 20 December 2020
Monday 6 January 2021 - Friday 31 January 2021

Semester II
Monday 16 March 2021 - Friday 20 March 2021
Monday 18 May 2021 - Friday 10 July 2021

Public Holidays/compulsory closing days

Date Occasion
6 September 2020 No lectures from 13.00h due to the inaugurations of the student associations*
13 September 2020 No lectures from 17.00h due to the introduction programmes of the study associations*
3 and 4 October 2020 Leiden's Relief
26 November 2020 No lectures between 15.00-18.00h due to the Cleveringa lecture
25 December 2020 - 1 January 2021 Christmas and New Year's
7 February 2021 No lectures between 13.00-17.00h due to the Dies
8 April 2021 Humanities Career Event and Campus The Hague Career Event
10 - 13 April 2021 Good Friday and Easter
27 April 2021 King's Day
4 and 5 May 2021 Remembrance Day and Liberation Day
21 and 22 May 2021 Ascension Day
31 May and 1 June 2021 Whit Sunday

 * In agreement with the Commissie Overlap.

Previous faculty academic calendars

This website uses cookies.