Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Academic calendar

The academic year officially commences on 1 September and ends on 31 August. On national holidays and compulsory closure dates, the university is closed and no lectures take place.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar applies to the whole university with the exception of LUMC and LUC. 

Public holidays

The university is closed on the following public holidays. 

  • Good Friday
  • Easter Sunday and Monday
  • King's Day (the day upon which King's Day is celebrated nationally)
  • Liberation Day: 5 May
  • Ascension Day
  • Whit Sunday and Monday
  • 3  October (Relief of Leiden)
  • Christmas Day and Boxing Day

Compulsory closures

The university is also closed on the 'compulsory closure' dates listed below.

Year Days
2024 Friday 10 May
Friday 4 October
Friday 27 December
Monday 30 December
Tuesday 31 December
2025 Friday 30 May
Wednesday 24 December
Monday 29 December
Tuesday 30 December
Wednesday 31 December

Friday 2 January
Friday 15 May
Thursday 24 December
Monday 28 December
Tuesday 29 December
Wednesday 30 December
Thursday 31 December

This website uses cookies.