Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Academic calendar

The academic year officially commences on 1 September and ends on 31 August. On national holidays and compulsory closure dates, the university is closed and no lectures take place.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar applies to the whole university and to all study programmes, with the exception of medicine.

Public holidays

The university is closed on the following public holidays. 

  • Good Friday
  • Easter Sunday and Monday
  • King's Day (the day upon which King's Day is celebrated nationally)
  • Liberation Day: 5 May
  • Ascension Day
  • Whit Sunday and Monday
  • 3  October (Relief of Leiden)
  • Christmas Day and Boxing Day

Compulsory closures

The university is also closed on the 'compulsory closure' dates listed below.

Year Days
2021 Friday 14 May
Monday 27 December
Tuesday 28 December
Wednesday 29 December
Thursday 30 December
Friday 31 December
2022 Friday 27 May
Tuesday 27 December
Wednesday 28 December
Thursday 29 December
Friday 30 December

Faculty Academic Calendar

Faculty Academic Year 2021-2022

The academic year comprises 2 semesters, each of 20 weeks (public holidays and compulsory vacation days not included) in which lectures, examinations, completion of assignments etc. take place.

Semester I 
Block 1: Thursday 9 September 2021 - Friday 22 October 2021
Block 2: Monday 1 November 2021 - Friday 17 December 2021

Semester II
Block 1: Monday 7 February 2022 - Friday 18 March 2022
Block 2: Monday 28 March 2022 - Friday 20 May 2022

Exams

Semester I
Monday 25 October 2021 - Friday 29 October 2021
Monday 20 December 2021 - Friday 24 December 2021, 16.00 hours
Monday 3 January 2022 - Friday 28 January 2022

Semester II
Monday 21 March 2022 - Friday 25 March 2022
Monday 23 May 2022 - Friday 1 July 2022

Public Holidays/compulsory closing days

Date Occasion
4 October 2021 Leiden's Relief
26 November 2021 No lectures between 15.00-18.00h due to the Cleveringa lecture
25 December 2021 - 2 January 2022 Christmas and New Year's
8 February 2022 No lectures between 13.00-17.00h due to the Dies
13 April 2022 No lectures after 13.00h due to the Humanities Career Event and Campus The Hague Career Event
17 and 18 April 2022 Good Friday and Easter
27 April 2022 King's Day
5 May 2022 Liberation Day
26 and 27 May 2022 Ascension Day
5 and 6 June 2022 Whit Sunday

 * In agreement with the Commissie Overlap.

Previous faculty academic calendars

This website uses cookies.